Breckenridge Brewery

IMG_0116

This is my first post about my recent trip to Denver. The first stop that I made in this great beer town was at the Breckenridge Brewery right down the street from Coors Field in down town Denver. I was here a couple of years ago enjoyed the beer and wanted to see what they were up to now. The first beer that I tried was the 471 small batch IPA from there 471 series of small batch beers. The 471 IPA is a double IPA with a 9.2% abv and 70 IBUs. I really enjoyed this beer but it was not the DIPA’s that we are use to out here on the west cost.  It had a bit of British flavor with the use of Fuggle hops and a British ale yeast. It was a very good IPA that is a little sweater and little less hoppy than the hop monsters I am use to but still very good. The second beer that I had was the 2220 Red (5.5% abv). A clean crisp Red with a bit of a hoppy touch is one of my favorite beer styles and this one did not disappoint. The menu said that it was a tad bit hoppier than its older brother Avalanche Amber Ale and it was noticeable. This was a fantastic beer and I would drink it all the time if it were available in the Bay Area. The final beer that I IMG_0118had was their Oatmeal Stout (4.95% abv). This was a classic example of this great style of beer. This was the perfect beer to finish my night with its coffee and chocolate notes. The stout had a wonderful mouthfeel that was creamy and smooth.  Every beer that I have ever had from Breckenridge has been excellent and I hope that one day we will be able to pick up a six pack over here in the Bay Area. In the next few days there will more reviews of my adventures in Denver.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

